top of page

Johnson, Gallagher, Tusler win big in Tuesday vote

November 10, 2016

The Brillion News

Republicans took all three state Assembly seats in local races in Tuesday’s general election.

In the Second District, incumbent Andre Jacque, R-De Pere, beat independent candidate Mark Grams, by a margin of 69 to 31 percent.

In the Third District, where incumbent Al Ott, R-Forest Junction, did not seek re-election after 30 years in Madison, attorney Ron Tusler, R-Appleton, beat Sharon Wasileski, D-Menasha, 61-39 percent.

In the 25th District, incumbent Paul Tittl, R-Manitowoc, turned back Democrat Ron Kossik, D-Manitowoc, 65-35 percent.

Incumbent Republican Ron Johnson turned back a challenge from former Senator Russ Feingold, a Democrat, to win a second six-year term in the U.S. Senate in Tuesday’s general election.

Johnson had 50 percent of the vote, Feingold 47 percent and Libertarian candidate Phillip Anderson three percent.

In the Sixth Congressional District, incumbent Glenn Grothman, R-Glenbaulah, had 57 percent of the vote, beating Sarah Lloyd, D-Wisconsin Dells (37 percent) and independent Jeff Dahlke of Mequon (6 percent).

In the Eighth Congressional District, where incumbent Reid Ribble, R-Sherwood, did not seek re-election, political newcomer Mike Gallagher, R-Green Bay, beat Outagamie County Executive Tom Nelson, D-Appleton, by a margin of 63 to 37 percent.

In the Wrightstown School District, voters approved bonding for $3.8 million to build a two-story health and fitness center at the high school, for both school and community use.

The referendum passed 2,226 to 1,419 (61 percent to 39 percent).

Unofficial totals as of 8 a.m. on November 9: U.S. Senate – Ron Johnson (R, Inc) 1,474,375; Russ Feingold (D) 1,375,992. Sixth Congress – Glenn Grothman (R, Inc) 203,920; Sarah Lloyd (D) 132,908; Jeff Dahlke (I) 20,690. Eighth Congress – Mike Gallagher (R) 227,732; Tom Nelson (D) 135,648. Second Assembly – Andre Jacque (R, Inc) 20,039; Mark Grams (I) 8,837. Third Assembly – Ron Tusler (R) 18,367; Sharon Wasileski (D) 11,759. 25th Assembly – Paul Tittl (R, Inc) 17,373; Ron Kossik (D) 9,359.



bottom of page