top of page

UPDATED: Reedsville short on candidates; 2 newcomers file in Brillion

Updated at 2:10 p.m. on January 7, 2019

The Brillion News

The deadline to file nomination papers for spring non-partisan offices was 5 p.m. on Wednesday, January 2.

When the deadline was reached, the Village of Reedsville came up with a contested race for village president – between incumbent President Jesse Walt and Trustee Jerry Reis. Reis gave up re-election as a trustee to run for president, and Trustee Joe Cummings did not seek re-election. The only registered candidate for trustee is Becky Busse, leaving the village with two open trustee seats.

Any resident interested in running for those seats as a registered write-in candidate should contact Village Clerk Mary Jo Krahn at 920-754-4371.

In the City of Brillion, there are four candidates running for three aldermanic seats, all at-large positions. Running are incumbents Carrie Wenzel and Mel Edinger, and new candidates Sarah Pielhop and Thomas J. Moehr. City Council member Vicki Shafran gave notice of non-candidacy.

Brillion Municipal Court Judge Jean Van Frachen is running, without opposition.

In Wrightstown, President Dean Erickson and trustees Sue Byers, Andy Lundt and Scott Reignier are all running for re-election, all unopposed.

In Hilbert, President Mark Breckheimer and trustees Tom Roehrig, Tim Keuler and Mike Bolwerk are all running for re-election, unopposed.

School Boards

On the Brillion School Board, incumbents Jessica Krueger, Casey Wittman and Rhonda Vande Hey are all running for new terms and are unopposed.

On the Hilbert School Board, three incumbents are all running for re-election , unopposed. They are Tom Konen, Erin Propson and Leann Kaser.

On the Reedsville School Board, only member Carie Boldt is up for re-election, and she is running unopposed.

On the Wrightstown School Board, President Tom Gerrits is not seeking re-election, but board member Sarah Hock is. Laurie De Cleene, of Greenleaf, filed for the seat being vacated by Gerrits, and both she and Hock are running unopposed.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page