top of page

Few election surprises

Posted at noon on April 5, 2017

The Brillion News

Tuesday’s April non-partisan general election had few contested local races, and those that were contested found voters returning most incumbents to office.

In one of the few upsets, Gary Lemke unseated incumbent Doug Lau in his bid for re-election as Potter Village President, 59 votes to 42.

In the Town of Holland, where the races for town chairman and supervisors were both contested, veteran Town Chairman Jerome Wall was returned to office, along with incumbent supervisors Mike Gweiger and Tom VandeWettering.

The Village of Hilbert had a five-way race for three trustee seats, with incumbent Tom Piepenberg not seeking another term. Incumbents Tom Roehrig and Tim Keuler won another term, joined by newcomer Mike Bolwerk.

In the City of Brillion, where two incumbents were not seeking re-election, write-in candidates Timothy Hanson and Joe Levash were elected aldermen at large.

In Reedsville, registered write-in Geoffrey Weinries was elected Village President. Incumbent Trustee Jerry Reis was re-elected and registered write-in Joe Cummings won the other open trustee position.

The incumbents seeking re-election to the Reedsville School Board were all elected. Andrew Maertz and Todd Schneider won three-year terms, Carrie Boldt a two-year term.

In the only contested statewide race, two-term incumbent Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Evers had an easy win over conservative challenger Lowell Holtz by a 70 to 30 percent margin.

In the race for a new judge in Manitowoc County Circuit Court Branch 3, to replace retiring Judge Jerome Fox, Bob Dewane edged out Patricia Coppa for the seat on the bench.



bottom of page